Top 6 Audibles for My Creative Zone

tiki music

When I’m working on a big illustration project, I can spend many hours at my drawing table and in front of my computer. It’s quite solitary and I enjoy the zen state it creates. When that happens, I usually like complete silence, especially if I’m sketching. When I’m scanning all my sketches or redrawing them in Adobe Illustrator, I love to listen to something. Here are my favorite audibles at the moment.

Warpaint – The Fool or Exquisite Corpse
I think my favorite song is Krimson.

Clarissa Pinkola Estes, PhD – audiobooks
I love all her books. Seeing in the Dark, Women Who Run With the Wolves, The Faithful Gardener and Creative Fire all have unique stories and provide great encouragement.

Back Cello Suites performed by Robert Cohen or Yo Yo Ma
Suite #1 in G, Praeludium is my favorite.

Phantom Planet
I don’t think they’re together anymore. Bummer.
This one gets me in to trouble because I inevitably want to get up and play my drums.

New Yorker Fiction Podcast
I’m a fan of Joyce Carol Oates so I really enjoyed Louise Erdrich reading The Mastiff.

Chris Oatley Artcast
A former Disney character designer, Chris Oatley creates fun, inspiring and educational podcasts.

Those are my current favorites. Maybe you’ll enjoy some of them too. What are you listening to lately?

Happy listening and happy creating!
Karen

This entry was posted in Advertising/Marketing Illustration, Children's Publishing Illustration, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 6 Audibles for My Creative Zone

  1. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014 ­čÖé

Leave a Reply

