How I work

Although most of my work is digital, it all starts with a sharp pencil and paper. I rough out a sketch to send to clients and get their feedback. Once approved I create the work in Adobe Illustrator (my favorite software). In a future post I might show how I work in illustrator but for now I just thought I’d show an example of a rough sketch and the final color. This illustration was for one of my favorite clients, American Girl. They didn’t have any changes to the rough sketch. You can click the images to view a bit larger.

Rough sketch for American Girl Magazine - Karen Wolcott Illustration

Rough sketch for American Girl Magazine

Final color illustration for American Girl Magazine - Karen Wolcott Illustration

Final color illustration for American Girl Magazine

Image | This entry was posted in Children's Publishing Illustration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

